Dunvegan Primary School Governing Body





Dunvegan Primary School has a Governing Body made up of members elected for a 3-year period. It is made up of 6 Parent Members, 3 Teacher Members, 1 Non Teacher employed at the school, and the Principal. Elections were completed on 9th March 2015.


The members are:

Non-Teacher: Mrs B. Dangerfield

Educators: Mr D van Niekerk, Miss C. Tarazza, Miss N. Dos Santos

Parent: Mr J. de Beer, Mr S. Ireland, Mr J. Ridley, Mrs V. Snyders, Mr T. Stevens, Mr L. van Honschooten.

Role of the School Governing Body (SGB)

-ensure that quality education takes place at the school

-ensure that they are committed to their role

-ensure that the SGB is properly constituted

-ensure policies are made in line with legislation

-ensure accountability and responsibility for the school funds

-ensure there is a code of conduct for learners

-ensure disciplinary hearings of learners at the schools are handled in a fair manner

-ensure that after interviewing for vacant posts at the school the most suitable educators are recommended to the Head of Department in the Province

-ensure that the Budget is prepared and presented to parents at the Annual General Meeting for their approval

-ensure that school grounds and buildings are maintained

-encourage good relationships within the school community

-ensure the learners, teachers and staff are safe during school hours

-ensure regular attendance as a member of the SGB at meetings

-ensure by-elections are held to fill any parent vacancies on SGB


Principles which govern School Governing Bodies


-gender sensitivity






Office Bearers

The following are Office Bearers until March 2018:

Chairman: Mr. Jan de Beer

Deputy Chairman: Mrs Valerie Snyders

Treasurer: Mr. Jonathan Ridley

Secretary: Mr. Trevor Stevens



The members are divided up into different portfolios:

Finance: Mr. J. Ridley, Mr. S. Ireland, Mr. Stevens

Grounds & Buildings: Mr. L. van Honschooten, Mr. R. Laidley

IT & Computers: Mr. T Stevens, Mr. D. van Niekerk

Education: Mr. R Laidley, Mr. D.van Niekerk, Miss C. Tarazza, Miss Dos Santos

Public Relations & Gold Diggers: Mrs B. Dangerfield

Legal Matters: Mr. J de Beer